About Us

Who We Are

The Foundation for Rural Service (FRS) was established in 1994 as a non-profit 501(c)(3) by NTCA–The Rural Broadband Association and plays a unique role within the telecommunications industry by supporting rural telecom companies, consumers and policymakers with educational information, products and programming.

What Really Puts the Fire in Our Belly?

Rural telecom providers know that their customers are also their neighbors. These community-based businesses not only have a direct impact on the local economy, they are also proactively involved in making their communities better places to live, work and raise a family.

With every program, FRS calls attention to rural challenges, goals and achievements, and educates the public and lawmakers on exactly why rural America is so unique and worth fighting for. Similarly, FRS is committed to educational achievement in rural communities, recognizing that tomorrow’s economic and civic development depends on the involvement and success of today’s students.

Why Should you Care?

Every bit helps to keep rural America at the table as a key contributor to our nation’s prosperity. Today, our rural communities face many challenges. FRS relies on the generous donations of individuals, companies and partners to move our programs forward. Together, we can enhance quality of life in rural America. Donate today to help us accomplish our mission.

Our Team

We couldn’t make the #ruraliscool magic happen without our staff and board of directors. If you are interested in serving on the foundation board, or staff positions, please contact us.

Jessica Golden

Executive Director

Jessica hails from the Golden State of California and she asks that you neither hold it against her nor assume she knows how to surf (it’s harder than it looks!). She has traveled all around the country on behalf of NTCA—The Rural Broadband Association and now the Foundation for Rural Service, since 2010, championing rural America and experiencing the diverse beauty of our nation’s rural communities.  She still has 12 states left on her list, so if you’re from AL, AR, HI, ID, IA, MI, NE, NH, NM, ND, OK, VT, and need a speaker who is extremely excited about rural issues—you can contact her at jgolden@frs.org.

Brock Streauslin

Program Specialist

After growing up and attending school in Iowa, Brock moved to the Washington D.C. area to explore career opportunities. Having grown up in one of the oldest cities in Iowa, Brock is actually a "city guy" by Midwest standards. However, his family ties to farming drive his interest in advocacy for rural communities. On the weekends, you can find Brock exploring the city of D.C., looking for new restaurants to try, or watching sports. If you have any questions about the grants or Youth Tour, you can find  him at bstreauslin@frs.org.

Taylor Treacy

Development and Events Planner

Taylor spent the first 18 years of her life growing up in the small town of Irmo, South Carolina. Since then, she has travelled all over the United States and has lived in two different countries. While completing a master’s degree in Events Management, she made the decision to give back to underserved communities and specialize in non-profit fundraising by way of events. When Taylor isn’t in the office you can catch her outdoors and enjoying all that nature has to offer, getting lost in the Smithsonian Museums, or picking at a guitar. For all FRS event inquiries, please email ttreacy@frs.org.


2018 FRS Board of Directors

Eric Cramer
Wilkes Communications/ Riverstreet Networks
Carri Bennet
Womble Bond Dickinson
David Adams
Green Hills Telephone Corp.
Richard Swartz
Triangle Telephone
(Havre, Mont.)
Ruth Conley
Foothills Communications
(Staffordsville, Ky.)
Melvin Massey
Rainbow Telecommunications Association, Inc.
(Denton, Kan.)
David Redman
RTC Communications
(Williams, Ind.)
Carissa Swenson
Consolidated Telcom
(Dickinson, N.D.)
Mark Washington
Five Area Telephone Cooperative, Inc.
(Muleshoe, Texas)
David Adams
Green Hills Telephone Corp.
(Breckenridge, Mo.)
Eric Cramer
Wilkes Telephone Membership Corp.
(Wilkesboro, N.C.)
Keith Gabbard
(McKee, Ky.)
Cheryl Rue
Tri-County Communications Co-op
(Strum, Wis.)
Stephen Milner
Planters Telephone Cooperative
(Newington, Ga.)
Caressa Bennet
Womble Bond Dickinson
(Washington, D.C.)
Lennie Blakeslee
(Greenwood Village, Colo.)
Julie Gogel
Telcom Insurance Group
(Greenbelt, Md.)
John Granger
Mapcom Systems
(Richmond, Va.)
Steve Meltzer
(Greenbelt, Md.)
David Mould
Ericsson, Inc.
(Plano, Texas)
Robin Reed
Rural Telephone Finance Cooperative
(Dulles, Va.)
Geoffrey Feiss
Montana Telecommunications Association
(Helena, Mont.)