2020 Scholarships

The application period has closed as of March 6, 2020.


The foundation annually awards scholarships to an exceptional group of rural students for their first year of college or vocational school to a select group of the over 1,500 applicants. All applicants require sponsorship by an NTCA—The Rural Broadband Association member company to be eligible.

FRS has awarded over $1 million in scholarships since its inception; empowering rural students throughout the country to advance their communities with invaluable skill sets and experiences.


$2,500 scholarships are awarded across rural American annually and matched by generous NTCA members to students in their communities paving the way for the future of rural America (member companies must commit to a $500 match for each winning student).


Named Scholarships

In addition to FRS scholarships, the program includes a number of named scholarship opportunities (required match does not apply). 


Everett Kneece Scholarship

$7,000 scholarship awarded annually in honor of the generous philanthropist Everett Kneece, who had a passion for rural America.

Good Neighbor Scholarship 

This scholarship is awarded to students who demonstrate what it means to be a "good neighbor" through humanitarianism, inclusion and kindness to others. 

Herbert and Isabel Bitz Memorial Scholarship

One $5,000 scholarship awarded annually. Created by Mr. Don Bitz of Montana in honor of his parents, Herbert and Isabel, awarded to one individual who exhibits a strong dedication to rural America. 

JSI Scholarship

$5,000 JSI scholarships are awarded by the JSI Staurulakis Family in honor of their parents John and Chresanthe Staurulakis to four individuals with an interest in science, math, medicine or engineering.

TMS Scholarship

$1,500 scholarships are awarded annually to two customers of Ardmore Telephone and/or West Kentucky and Tennessee Telecommunications Cooperative.

Roger Alan Cox Scholarship

Scholarship is awarded as one $1,000 college scholarship to go to a student who resides in the Atlantic Telephone Membership Company service territory in North Carolina, and two other $500 scholarships for individuals living in rural areas of North Carolina and South Carolina. Recipients shall be selected by FRS through its scholarship application review process.





Rose Gerard NineStar Connect (IN) Northeast Region
Caitlin Cox NineStar Connect (IN) Northeast Region
Ethan Hunt McDonough Telephone Cooperative (IL) Northeast Region
Kenneth Stier Enhanced Telecommunications (IN) Northeast Region
Emily Evans  3  Rivers Telephone Cooperative (MT)   Northwest Region
Avia Simmons Farmers Mutual Telephone Company (ID)                                   Northwest Region
Jake Livingston Farmers Mutual Telephone Company (ID) Northwest Region
Savannah Burris Phillips County Telephone Company dba PC Telcom (CO) Northwest Region
McKenna Stephens All West Communications (UT) Northwest Region
Jessie Glover South Central Communications (UT) Northwest Region
William Smith III West Carolina Rural Telephone Cooperative (SC) Southeast Region
Charles McAllister West Carolina Rural Telephone Cooperative (SC) Southeast Region
Calissa Mason Pineland Telephone Cooperative (GA) Southeast Region
Elor Mayan   Horry Telephone Cooperative (SC) Southeast Region
Sydney Sanford Skyline Membership Corporation (NC) Southeast Region
Halle Shrum North Central Telephone Cooperative (TN) Southeast Region
Bedford Emberton Twin Lakes Telephone Cooperative Corporation (TN) Southeast Region
William Lovelace  Sandhill Telephone Cooperative (SC) Southeast Region
Hannah Adams  Highland Telephone Cooperative (VA) Southeast Region
Josue Villegas-Silva Surry Telephone Membership Corporation (NC) Southeast Region
Jerry Kennedy West Kentucky and Tennessee Telecommunications Cooperative (KY) Southeast Region
Abbey Grace Breland Ardmore Telephone Company (KY) Southeast Region
Landry Gaddy KanOkla Networks (OK) Southwest Region
Gabriel Gibson Canadian Valley Telephone Company (OK) Southwest Region
Shaylee Boger Cap Rock Telephone Cooperative (TX) Southwest Region
Colton Rohrbach    Yucca Telecom (NM) Southwest Region
Matilin Rigsby Nortex Communications (TX) Southwest Region
Trinity Wagner  Cunningham Telephone Company (KS) Central Region
Colin Chandler Cunningham Telephone Company (KS) Central Region
Grace Nelson BPS Telephone Company (MO) Central Region
Kenzie McAtee Peoples Telecommunications, LLC (KS) Central Region
Meredith Oesch Green Hills Telephone Corporation (MO) Central Region
Dustin Davies Green Hills Telephone Corporation (MO) Central Region
Jordyn Castro  Mark Twain Rural Telephone Company (MO) Central Region
Macey Spilman Clear Lake Independent Telephone Company (IA) Central Region
Lane Blackford Chariton Valley Telephone Corporation (MO) Central Region
Priscilla Liu Chariton Valley Telephone Corporation (MO) Central Region
Stephanie Hands Golden Belt Telephone  Association (KS) Central Region
Caleb Nord Golden Belt Telephone Association (KS) Central Region
Elsie Magwire  Northeast Nebraska Telephone Company (NE) Central Region
Allison Wilken   Pioneer Communications (KS) Central Region
Slater Heglin Pioneer Communications (KS) Central Region
Lauren Campuzano  Tri-County Telephone Association (KS) Central Region
Sean Gierke     West River Telecommunications Cooperative (ND) North Central Region
Grace Mathias Dickey Rural Telephone Cooperative (ND) North Central Region
Allison Lucas Dickey Rural Telephone Cooperative (ND) North Central Region
Keaton Nelson    North Dakota Telephone Company (ND) North Central Region
Brian Freidt North Dakota Telephone Company (ND) North Central Region
Sara Hemmingson Interstate Telecommunications Cooperative (SD) North Central Region
Kaylee Weninger  Dakota Central Telecommunications (ND) North Central Region
Gracyn Cole Polar Communications (ND) North Central Region
Paige Haakenson Polar Communications (ND) North Central Region
Hannah Braaten Gardonville Cooperative Telephone Assocation North Central Region
Abby Kiesow Garden Valley Telephone Company North Central Region


See Past Winners:

2018 Winners

Casey Vickers, a resident of DeKalb County, Tennessee and a recent winner of an FRS scholarship speaks about how FRS and DTC Communications is helping her achieve her dreams. 

As FRS approaches our 25th Anniversary in 2019, we are highlighting some of our favorite programs. Since 1994, FRS has awarded over $1 million in scholarships to rural youth.

Get Involved

Are you interested in sponsoring a scholarship and investing in the future of rural America?  Contact us at