We are investing over $100,000 a year in the next generation of rural leaders.

FRS Scholarship Timeline

October: Application for Following Year Released
March 1: Application Deadline
May 1: Winners Announced


Each year, the foundation gives out $2,500 scholarships to an exceptional group of rural students for their first year of college or vocational school. Additionally, several named scholarships (listed below) are given to a select group of the over 1,500 applicants. All applicants require sponsorship by an NTCA—The Rural Broadband Association member company (which must commit to a $500 match for each winning student) to be eligible.

FRS has awarded over $1 million in scholarships since its inception; empowering rural students throughout the country to advance their communities with invaluable skillsets and experiences.

FRS Named Scholarships

Named Scholarships: The program also includes the following named scholarship opportunities (required match does not apply): Everett Kneece, JSI, TMS and Roger Alan Cox Scholarships. See below for more information.

Everett Kneece Scholarship

FRS awards one, $7,000 scholarship annually in honor of the generous philanthropist Everett Kneece, who had a passion for rural America.

JSI Scholarships

The FRS JSI Staurulakis Family Scholarships are funded by Manny and Leo Staurulakis, of JSI, in honor of their parents John and Chresanthe Staurulakis. Four $5,000 JSI scholarships are awarded each year and give preference to students with an interest in science, math, medicine, or engineering.

TMS Scholarships

Each year, two $1,500 scholarships are awarded as the TMS Scholarships, with one going to a student who is a customer of Ardmore Telephone and/or West Kentucky and Tennessee Telecommunications Cooperative.

Roger Alan Cox Scholarship

Roger Cox served rural America and the rural telecommunications industry for his entire life, spending his last 27 years at Atlantic Telephone Membership Corporation (ATMC).  Roger dedicated his life to improving the lives of those who live in rural America. These scholarships, three at $500 each, honor Roger’s passion and endless drive to help ensure that rural Americans have access to the same technology and education as every other American. Herman & Whitaker sponsors this scholarship (runs through 2019).

2018 Scholarship Application

$7,000 Everett Kneece Scholarship Winner

Jessica Horan
Triangle Telephone Cooperative, Inc. (MT)
(Northwest Region)


$5,000 Staurulakis Family Scholarship (JSI) Winners

Courtney Wiese
Arvig (MN)
(North Central Region)

Sheridan Reagan
Cap Rock Telephone Cooperative, Inc. (TX)
(Southwest Region)

Dalton Peters
Hamilton Telecommunications (NE)
(Central Region)

Ashstan Voyles
West Carolina Rural Telephone Cooperative, Inc. (SC)
(Southeast Region)

$1,500 TMS Scholarship Winners

Allie Lauren Seavers
(Southeast Region)

Tiga Ward
Blackfoot Telephone Cooperative (MT)
(Northwest Region)

$1,250 Broadband Telecom Conference Scholarship Winners

Morgan Fisher
Pembroke Telephone Cooperative (VA)
(Southeast Region)

Kayle Jordan
Randolph Communications (NC)
(Southeast Region)

$500 Roger Alan Cox Scholarship Winners

Dylan Knoles
Sandhill Telephone Cooperative (SC)
(Southeast Region)

Victor Figueroa Jimenez
Atlantic Telephone Membership Corporation (ATMC) (NC)
(Southeast Region)

Ivey Brewer
Star Telephone Membership Corporation (NC)
(Southeast Region)

$2,500 FRS Scholarship Winners

Southeast Region

Casey Vickers
DTC Communications (TN)

Gabriel Starkey
Farmers Telecommunications Cooperative, Inc. (AL)

Caitlin Fitzwater
Hardy Telecommunications, Inc. (WVA)

Ashlyn Rittenberry
North Central Telephone Cooperative, Inc (TN)

Jack Ward
North Central Telephone Cooperative, Inc (TN)

April Morgan
Peoples Rural Telephone Cooperative (KY)

Corey Crouse
SkyLine Membership Corporation (NC)

Hunter Maines
SkyLine Membership Corporation (NC)

Maria Olson
West Carolina Rural Telephone Cooperative, Inc. (SC)

Darnell Norman
West Carolina Rural Telephone Cooperative, Inc. (SC)

Northeast Region

Kiersten Pratt
Adams Telephone Co-Operative (IL)

Margaret Schleter
NineStar Connect (IN)

Karlee Huber
Wabash Mutual Telephone Company (OH)

Anneka Williams
Waitsfield and Champlain Valley Telecom (VT)

Central Region

Abigail Peiffer
Chariton Valley Telephone Corporation (MO)

Alivia Acklin
Chariton Valley Telephone Corporation (MO)

Marissa Wiederholt 
GRM Networks (MO)

Joslyn Seals
GRM Networks (MO)

Natalie Gasseling
Hemingford Cooperative Telephone Company (NE)

Monica Jirak
Nex-Tech (KS)

Taylor McAtee
Peoples Telecommunications, L.L.C. (KS)

Morgan Crockett
Pioneer Communications (KS)

Kylee Trout
Pioneer Communications (KS)

Alexus Schulte 
Steelville Telephone Exchange, Inc. (MO)

North Central Region

Rachel Sauve
Citizens Telephone Cooperative (WI)

Riley Abrahamson
Consolidated Telcom (ND)

Summer Steinwand
Dickey Rural Telephone Cooperative (ND)

Conrad Pederson
Dickey Rural Telephone Cooperative (ND)

Ryan Dietz
Federated Telephone Cooperative (MN)

Hannah Pierson
North Dakota Telephone Company (ND)

Ashley Benes
Paul Bunyan Communications (MN)

Casey Solseng
Polar Communications Mutual Aid Corp. (ND)

Benjamin Ontl
Solarus (WI)

Ellen Schlechter
Venture Communications Cooperative (SD)

Northwest Region

Chandler Allen
3 Rivers Telephone Cooperative, Inc. (MT)

Jordan Baxter
Mid-Rivers Telephone Cooperative, Inc. (MT)

James Clay Johnson
Oregon Telephone Corporation (OR)

Kayla Rae Marshall
Phillips County Telephone Company dba PC Telcom (CO)

Austin Herman
Phillips County Telephone Company dba PC Telcom (CO)

Lindsay Riley
Range Telephone Cooperative, Inc. (MT)

Southwest Region

Ryleigh Carson
Cap Rock Telephone Cooperative, Inc. (TX)

Aleigh Bessonett
Cumby Telephone Cooperative, Inc. (TX)

Dannie Leigh Deason
ENMR Plateau Telecommunications (NM)

Garrett Wright
ENMR Plateau Telecommunications (NM)

Amy Luttmer
Nortex Communications (TX)

Hailey Ashe
Penasco Valley Telephone Cooperative (NM)

Associate Member

Mitch Harpestad